Advanced Education, Skills and Labour

Appointment of Arbitrators

The Division handles the administrative function of appointing sole arbitrators or nominees to arbitration boards on the request of the parties when they cannot agree to an appointment themselves.

Arbitrators are chosen from the Roster of Arbitrators named by the Labour Management Arbitration Committee.

Roster of Arbitrators

Mr. David Alcock
Mr. Travor Brown
Mr. Dennis Browne
Mr. David Buffett
Mr. Andrew Butt
Mr. John Clarke
Mr. Bernard Coffey
Mr. Clarence Dwyer
Ms. Karen Hollett     Inactive
Mr. Ronald McCabe
Ms. LeeAnn Montgomery
Ms. Sheilagh M. Murphy
Mr. James Oakley Word Doc (114 KB)
Mr. John Roil
Mr. John A. Scott
Mr. Wayne Thistle
Mr. Robert Wells

Revised February 12, 2018

How do I apply for the appointment of an Arbitrator?

You can send your request to the Minister responsible for the Labour Relations Act. This letter should include the jurisdiction you are applying under (ie. the legislation or the article of the collective agreement). This request should also include a copy of the grievance as well as a copy of the collective agreement.

Adobe® Acrobat® Reader software can be used for viewing PDF documents. Download Acrobat® Reader for free opens in new window

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.